The Missing – Not really in my taste

The MissingThe Missing by Ron Howard on CanalSat (Arte)
My rating: 4 out of 10 stars

In 1885 New Mexico, a frontier medicine woman forms an uneasy alliance with her estranged father when her daughter is kidnapped by an Apache brujo.

The kids wanted to see Mimic last knight but it’s a school day so they wouldn’t have been able to finish seeing it, and they gave Mimic 2 & 3 the same evening as well, so I decided to record all three of them. Yes I know, it’s another horror movie on SyFy but at least this one is directed by Guillermo del Toro. Anyway, we watched The Missing instead.

It is an interesting film. The film is definitely well made. Some of the shots and scenery is very beautiful and the acting is up to par with the rest of the movie. I cannot say that I regretted having watched it. It is however, not really a movie in my taste. It’s probably one of these movies that you either like or don’t like.

It is somewhat depressing that has to be said. The hero (Tommy Lee Jones) has gone on a walkabout leaving his wife and kids behind and his reasons for coming back are pretty bizarre. There are some superficial parallels with True Grit but I never got the liking for the “hero” in this one as I did with True Grit.

Some people say that it’s great because it’s a realistic movie. I don’t understand how they can say that with the magic mumbo jumbo that appears in the second half. Causing someone to get ill by distance using a strand of hair? Get real! That part annoyed me a lot.

Bottom line, okay movie, well done but I personally didn’t really like it that much.

My Movie Collection

Leave a Reply

