Looking for a new car and having a nice lunch in Divonne-les-Bains.

Cadillac EscaladeToday I had the day off from work. One of the reasons for that was that it is school holiday this week (and the next) so I wanted to spend some time with the family. Another reason was that my car is 10 years old and, although I am quite happy with it, it is indeed getting on the old side and things are starting to break on it. So it is about time to start to look for a new one.

Getting a new car for me is not as straightforward as one might wish. Well it would be if I would just buy a car like anyone else but, as a international civil servant, my car is on diplomatic plates and the amount of red tape to cut through to get those is rather massive. Not only that but I can have only one car on these plates which means that I have to get rid of the one I have before I even apply for the plates for a new car. So I have a real logistics problem ahead of me.

Anyway, it has to be done so we spent the morning visiting a few car dealers. My current car, a Chevrolet Tahoe, is no longer sold in Europe thanks to some idiot bean counters at General Motors so the only options, short of importing a car myself, for a car similar to the Tahoe is the Cadillac Escalade and the Grand Cherokee. The latter one being noticeably smaller than the Tahoe but you can get it with a rather interesting engine in the 6.4l Hemi V8.

In the end I think my decision will be made based on what kind of diplomatic service the dealer can offer and whether or not they will take care of deliberating me of my current car.

Anyway, if nothing else, our visits at the two car dealers resulted in a total of 10 free tickets to the Geneva motor show and a VIP invitation to the Cadillac stand so we might actually go there this year.

At Charly's Pub in Divonnes les BainsAfter the “car shopping” we drove back to France and one of our regular restaurants in Divonne-les-Bains where we had an excellent meal. Actually we where there a bit early so we went to Charly’s pub first to sit down and wait for the restaurant to open and then we went on to the restaurant. The two small kids went for Lasagne as usual but me and Jonathan had a wonderful beef Carpaccio with black truffles followed by stuffed pigeon and then some chocolate cake. Yummy!

One thought on “Looking for a new car and having a nice lunch in Divonne-les-Bains.

  1. Pingback: Visit at the Geneva Car Show | My Ramblings

Leave a Reply

