Me the Lumberjack

Cutting down the old prune treeOkay, okay I guess it is somewhat presumptuous of me to label myself lumberjack. But I did cut down a tree today and although it was not a Redwood or Canadian pine tree but merely the old prune tree in our garden it was a bit of an event for someone who spends most of his time sitting down working with computers.

My dear wife have wanted it removed for some time. Myself I was a bit more hesitant but it is true that it rarely gave any prunes and it was always infested by insects and various pests every summer. It also did take away a lot of the light.

IMG-20140222-0061Well, as you can see from this post, today it went down. I did a chunk of it in the morning and then we went for lunch at the kids new favorite restaurant in St Genis Pouilly. My dear wife did not find any good main ingredients for more than one day of this weekend when she went shopping last Friday so the kids cunningly suggested that it did not matter for we could go to this restaurant instead. It is a Chinese buffet. Personally I am not too keen on these kinds of restaurants. I prefer to be served. But what the heck, the kids like it and we are sure that they are eating when there so…

After lunch I took down the rest of the tree although, as you can see from the pictures, we have a lot of work to do still in order to get everything chopped up and cleaned away.

I uploaded a few more photos from my lumberjack adventure to my Flickr photostream.

Leave a Reply

