Long weekend with the kids.

Last weekend the kids were not at my place as usual since my ex was on holiday and had the kids for the entire week. This weekend we kind of compensated. Last Thursday was Ascension so it was a holiday and I took the Friday off to make it into a long weekend so the kids came over from Thursday to Sunday.

Weather ForecastThe weather has been great as well, sunny with temperatures creeping up towards 30 degrees and more, so it has been a really nice weekend. On the Friday we went to Balexert so the kids could do some shopping for my ex’s birthday and then we went on to Val Thoiry so I could do the grocery shopping. Jonathan wanted to have fish for dinner so we got some nice Filet de Perche which I fried and served with French fries and a salad.

Filet de Perche

Yesterday my girlfriend came over for lunch and later in the evening we went to Balexert again to watch Guardians of The Galaxy Vol. 2 at the cinema. My girlfriend was really nervous about meeting the rest of my family. The kids seemed a bit intimidated as well so they did not speak very much. Well, I guess they just have to get used to it. It was not exactly me that chose to go down the path we did.

As for the movie. I have to say I was a bit disappointed. It was in 3D but “regular” 3D and not the IMAX 3D that we experienced when we saw the latest Star Wars. I really did not like it. The image was a mess most of the time and the, too exaggerated, 3D effects more of a distraction than anything else. I will not write a review on that one before I have watched it again at home on Blu-ray … without 3D of course.

Lunch at the balconyAfter the movie we had planned to go to one of the restaurants at Balexert to eat but we discovered that all the restaurants except CrapDonalds closed when the shops closed. That’s bloody Swiss for you! So we drove back to St Genis and went for a burger at Le Brasserie instead.

Right now Jonathan is getting his weekly fix of Science Fiction, Star Trek Voyager to be specific, and I am relaxing a bit before it is time to prepare lunch. I had actually planned to go to Le Brasserie today for lunch but yesterdays change of plans obviously had repercussions on that. Thus, I had to go out in the morning to do some more grocery shopping. Luckily in France shops and restaurants are usually open when the customers actually need them and not at the convenience of the staff.

So, I picked up some pasta, tomatoes, herbs and shark meat. I was actually looking for tuna but they did not have any so I had to improvise on my improvisation. I guess we are about to see how that goes.

The next weekend the kids have asked, actually more demanded, to stay for the full weekend again. It is Fete de l’Oiseaux in St Genis and, since I now live in the village, they want to take the opportunity of staying over so we can go down in the evening and enjoy the fairground and all the attractions when it is dark and the lights are on.

Leave a Reply

